Neck relief on 10-16 neck?

johh

Just wondering what is recommend starting point for relief on a 10"-16" compund radius neck. I know tha a straight 9.5 radius neck is .010  for 10-46 strings. but I was wonding if the compound might be like .009 or .008?

It's no different than any other neck - there's no logical reason you would have different reliefs on different radii. Fender recommends .010 but many others including Erlewine and the guys at Pensa's shop recommend straight, no relief - and I've found that if my frets are very good, totally straight allows you to get really low without much buzzing. There is some personal preference involved though.

I have been playing for 35 years & I have always known that any guitar needs a certain amount of relief & this depends on a few variables. String size,neck radius, how the person plays. SRV used .013 Eric Johnson about .008. For strings to ring out from the upper registry evenly all the way down the neck thre has to be a certain amount of relief. Especially on a strat. I was just wondering if there was a good starting point on a 10-16 compound radius neck. But I have already been tinkering & have found that .009 is a good spot. No relief & open chords will not ring out like they should! I have never seen any pro, famous or not not use some relief! I use to work in music stores fixing guitar changing pickups & setting up it has been some years & I am not familar with this type of neck is all. I know I could figue it out I was just looking for a good starting spot from some one who knew!

http://fender.com/support/stratocaster.php

Neck Radius        Relief
7.25"                    .012" (0.3 mm)
9.5" to 12"            .010" (0.25 mm)
15" to 17"            .008" (0.2 mm)