My First Build - and a couple of questions

PeteNelson

Hi all - this is my first post here, and I'm working on my first build, so I'm a complete noob. As usual, I've probably bitten off a little more than I can chew, but I'll just keep making sawdust until I either have a guitar or a pile of sawdust!

Anyway, I wanted to build a guitar from my own design, but I know that I don't have either the skills or the tools to build a neck, so I bought a body blank and a neck (with a straight paddle head) from Warmoth, and had Warmoth do the neck pocket routing. Everything else, I'm attempting to do myself. I've gotten to the point where I have the body basically shaped, and the headstock shaped and drilled. I'm using Steinberger gearless tuners, and I installed those today to get them test fitted. Everything is going ok so far, but I think I've made a rookie mistake on spacing the tuners, and I am hoping that people with more experience than me can tell me if I'm completely hosed or not.

I've attached a couple of pics showing the whole guitar and a close-up of the headstock. It's a really basic design for the head, but for my woodworking skills (or lack thereof), I think it looks ok. The issue that I think that I will have is that I didn't allow for enough space between the tuners, so the tuners are going to interfere with the strings. I didn't account for the size of the tuner bodies when I laid out the head design - not thinking about the fact that the Steinberger tuners have a pretty big diameter compared to typical tuner pegs. Anyway, is this going to totally mess up the guitar when it is strung, or will it really not matter (other than looking bad)?