Tell Us The Definitive Way to FInish With Tru/Tung Oil

greenplastic

I'm a Newb here and to guitar building. I am planning on constructing my first guitar in the upcoming weeks. I plan on finishing my guitars body with tru-oil, or a similar oil based varnish but have has some real trouble finding a solid method that is clear and easy to read. There are many posts, but the methods are spread out over 10's of posts and hard to follow.

So I want all you Tru/Tung Oil buffs to post your definitive way to finish a guitar body, with pics of the process if you have any, or at least pics of the final product. Don't forget to include what you sealed the grain with, and how durable your finish is!

I think this could be a really good resource for the new kids on the block, so come on, help us out!

1.  always use a sanding block like the 3m one.  home depot
2.  fill with water based filler, black, brown, or clear - repeat as needed to totally fill the pores.  www.stewmac.com
3  when sanding back, use premium grade of sandpaper - it lasts longer, works better on sanding blocks.  home depot
4.  apply oils in the thinnest humanly possible coat - after coat #1 that is.  Coat #1 should be a little heavier to fill any remaining micro-pores, then wiped off so its a thin coat when you leave it to dry
5  dry thoroughly - oils air cure and might feel dry, but they're not.  Give them at least a few days if not longer, like a week, between coats.  Keep coats THIN as humanly possible
6.  no need to sand real oils (ie, pure tung), but you might want to sand or steel wool (synthetic) the 2nd to last tru-oil coat.

Pure tung oil is a preferable finish to tru-oil in my opinion.  It wears well, better than tru-oil, and goes on thin and tough.  It can be buffed to semi-gloss, and touched up with no sanding or muss.  Just reapply and wipe excess off, repeat to build the "depth" you like to blend with the surrounding finish.