Strange playability difference between Regal and LP

docteurseb

I recently completed an Aqua Marine Regal build and found an unexpected difference in playability with my LP where string bending is very noticeably harder in the upper register (frets 12+), and overall not as "fast playing" as the Les Paul. It's similar to the difference between 9s vs 10s.

The necks have the same string gauge, same neck relief, same e/E action (and only minor difference on the other strings given the radius mismatch of the Tune-O-Matic 12"), but based on specs alone I would have expected the Regal to be far easier to play:
  - Gibson: short scale, 12" radius, medium jumbo nickel frets, rosewood,  "slim 60s neck profile" (close to the Warmoth 59, maybe a tad slimmer).
  - Regal: short scale conversion neck, 10-16" radius, 6105 stainless steel, ebony, standard thin contour.

I'd like to point it's far from being the first neck I setup, that's not to say I'm an expert at all, but I like to think I roughly know what I'm doing ;-)

Regarding the "fast playing" feel I suspect that just comes from the slightly taller 6105 frets (I prefer shorter frets like vintage frets for that). I still need to confirm how tall those "medium jumbo" frets are on the Les Paul.

For string bending I'm however a little at a loss, specs alone would suggest the Regal neck to be much better.
Maybe it's the way I position my hand on the thicker LP neck in those high register frets, or it's a combination of fret height + back contour +(rosewood vs ebony).

I haven't given up on this regal build just yet, I'm leaning towards experimenting with different necks (though that could become an expensive experiment!).

So, I thought I'd ask here for some thoughts/suggestions from those who may have experimented with various neck specs and may have experience similar differences.