Pickup choice for Mahogany Strat

pilot2222

This is my first time on the forum, so excuse me if I flub.  

I have ordered a warmoth strat that I would like to outfit with humbuckers.  I currently have a flying v with burstbuckers (1 and 2) in it and I think that they sound awesome.  However, I would like this new guitar to be my #1 so I can play it in any playing situation.  I love the sound of Billy Gibbons, Warren Haynes, BB King, Jimmy Page, and Eddie Van Halen.  In other words, I love the vintage sounds of the past but I don't want it to be too dirty or too weak sounding.  I have many pickups including a 59, JB, Dimebucker, Burstbucker Pro, etc.  I think the JB is the most endorsed pickup in the world but I fear that it may not sound good in this body.  My choices are narrowed down by the fact that I need a trembucker or an F-space bridge pickup.

Here are the specs on the strat:

Mahogany neck with indian rosewood fingerboard  1 & 11/16'' nut width
Mahogany body with flame maple top (chambered)
fixed bridge - Gotoh traditional fender style
two volumes/two tones - two 500k CTS concentric pots
3-way switch

Any thoughts?

sounds like you need to look into the Rio Grande BBQ/TX set.
I have them in Korina and Alder and they sound great!

Luke has a TX in a mahogany tele in the neck position and it sounds fantastic.

I just listened to an audio sample of the BBQ/Texas picksups on Rio Grande's website and they sound very nice.  Due to looks I am looking for an f-spaced chrome pickup in the bridge and a chrome pickup in the neck.  The Texas might work because it is available in chrome but the BBQ only comes in zebra for the f-spaced version. :sad1:

Bare Knuckle Pickups offer pickups in 53mm space ( Floyd ) covered... They're hand wound in England and therefore are a little more expensivier than Rio Grande...