Non-warmoth tele bod, Warmoth neck

bagman67

Epic Member
Well, let me tell you guys something.  Depression is a mother.  It robs you of the ability to start things, to complete things, to make any progress in the middle of things. It makes it hard if not impossible to be excited about the prospect of starting, doing, and finishing things.  One thing it does not rob you of is the feeling of guilt about what you're not starting, doing, or finishing;  so not only does depression suck, it lacks symmetry, and is as such aesthetically as well as psychologically objectionable.

I have been getting treatment for depression for the last few months via meds and talk therapy, and a sign of hope is that I am actually commencing a project with a body I have been sitting on for SIX YEARS. 

giphy.gif

Submitted for your enjoyment, a Renegade Guitars body in western red cedar that I picked up for a song on the 'bay back in 2013.  The plan is to stain with yellow to give it a little more of an amber look, and then do a burst edge in brown.  With luck it'll be a fair approximation of something between a honey burst and a tobacco burst.  With a tortoise pickguard, chrome fiddly bits, the Quarter Pound bridge pup from Bete Noire, a Duncan Vintage Stack neck pickup, and a Warmoth boat-neck in wenge with stainless 6115's, it should be a pretty nice axe. 

9681925720_f051205178_b.jpg

The photo above was shot under fluorescent light and has kind of a yucky greenish cast; the body's actually a warm, rosy pinkish tan.  This afternoon I hit the body with pre-stain conditioner and then Behlen lemon yellow dye to give it an amber cast, and I'm pretty happy with  it.

49075659008_ac368430a3_b.jpg

Forgot to take any neck photos while I was in the garage, so I'll post them tomorrow.  I am filled with hope and excitement about a project for the first time in a loooong time.  Once I get this guy through the chute, the Velocity beckons.