First Project, Building a 5 string.

dcroatt

So I've been looking at warmoth for a few years now, and I finally have the chance to get myself a custom bass. I'm thinking a Gecko 5 string body/neck combo but I was wondering:

1: I'm looking for a bluesy sound so what woods and pickups are best

2: what internal components are necessary (this is my first build)

3: what size neck should I go with (I have relatively small hands so I was thinking small or medium, but I don't know the measurements)

4: I want to go fret-less, what neck build/finish is best for this?

For a good blues bass, the body and neck woods are going to matter less than the pickups you choose.  If you want a good warm tone with thick fundamentals and commanding lower midrange, I would go for a single 5-string P-bass pickup in the typical (neck) position.  Nordstrand makes a nice P-bass pickup with angled polepieces that really sense the strings nicely, and give a great vintage P-bass feel.  Villex also makes a more modern-sounding P-bass pickup, with great midrange and treble clarity.

Alternately, you may consider choosing a soapbar pickup shape that may be easier to replace later on, if you decide you want to brighten up the tone.  A good warm pickup in this shape would be Carvin's "icon" humbucking soapbar pickup.  They have a full and rich fundamental, lots of lower mids and a rolled-off treble and upper midrange.  If you're looking for something that sounds a bit less muted and more natural, SGD's "ND3" series of humbuckers comes very close to a modern P-bass tone.  Of course Villex also can make soapbar pickups, and they sound phenomenal in the neck position.