First builds (two of them)

windknot

My son and I have been talking about building a guitar together for a few years but are finally doing it.  After much consideration, we decided to each build our own.  That way, I could get the experience while working on mine and could provide guidance for him, allowing him to do all the work on his guitar himself.  (That's how I sold it to my wife anyway  :laughing11: )

We wanted these guitars to be special and knew that we needed to let the finish on the guitars be done by a professional so we let Warmoth handle that for us.  We used the guitar builder on the Warmoth website to try different options to get an idea of what we were looking for and then picked bodies and necks from the showcase.

Mine is a Swamp Ash body with a vintage tint and parchment pickguard. It's got a Birdseye Maple Vintage Modern neck with a beautiful Bocote fretboard, SS6105 frets and a satin vintage tint finish. I'm putting Rio Grande Dirty Harry pickups in it so the sound will be like a cross between a Vintage Strat and P-90s.

His is a Quilted Maple over Swamp Ash chambered body with a contoured heel, Honey Burst finish and White Pearl pickguard. His neck is solid Birdseye Maple Vintage Modern, SS6105 frets and a clear glossy finish. He's got the Rio Grande Dual-Calibrated pickup set.

Both guitars are getting Schaller locking tuning keys, GraphTech White TUSQ nuts, Wilkinson VS100 tremolos, and wired using the Eric Johnson wiring schematic.

Here's a few pics taken during the build so far.  The color on my camera phone is not accurate but I'll post better pics when they're done.

Mine straight out of the box.  Just the body, neck and pickguard. It's hard to see but I really love the grain on the bocote fingerboard.
2013-12-19+22.52.56.jpg