Finished my first build.

vikingred

Long time player, but this is my first build.  I probably rushed things a bit.  It's not perfect by any means.  Used a lot of info on this forum to help me, and Cagey was particularly helpful in answering E-Mails and providing advice.  He will be doing the final fret work, so I guess it's 95% finished.  I gotta say this, though.  This guitar is AMAZING.  I painstakingly set up the Floyd and intonation and got it pretty damn close, using saddle shims as suggested. Turns out the R3 nut is fine, and now I'm worried about the R4 nut I have coming on my next build!  Anyway, I'm blessed/cursed with a very sensitive ear and so I use a strobe tuner as I can tell when intonation and tuning is even slightly off.  Man this machine cranks heavy.  The tone is incredible.  The hardest part is going to be sending it to Cagey for fret finishing because I can't stop playing it. 

It has a chambered korina on korina body with UC top (satin finish by Warmoth); bloodwood neck (unfinished) with ziricote fretboard (UC).  I insisted on doing a Fender strat waterslide decal and so I learned a lot about lacquer and sanding.  And most cool of all was the BURNISHING of the neck.  Wow.  2000 grit sandpaper is magic (all necks on future builds will be unfinished and burnished).  It looks like a satin or gloss finished neck, but the only thing that's touched it is sandpaper and cloth.