Acceptable companion to an Atomic CLR?

Verne Bunsen

Hello all,

I've been using a Line 6 Helix for about three years and for all of that time I've been very happily monitoring through an Atomic CLR cabinet (not the wedge) and through my Beyerdynamic DT770 headphones. These two are great for me because they both sound fantastic to me, tones crafted in one translate faithfully to the other, and things that sound good in them sound good in my DAW. In short: no complaints here. Fast-forward to the present and I've been playing a lot with stereo. Since I have just the one CLR I'm relegated to headphone monitoring only for this, and I want to get another speaker so I can get stereo monitoring in the room. What I'd really like is to acquire another CLR cabinet, but they don't make them anymore and they don't pop up too often on the used market. Even the current production model CLR wedges are back ordered and likewise pretty scarce used. So I'll wait for a CLR cab to pop up somewhere, it's bound to happen eventually, but in the meantime I'm still interested in getting stereo monitoring in the room. So, said all that to say all this: do any of you fellas have a recommendation for a powered FRFR speaker that will compliment the CLR in the meantime? I'm not really interested in a PA speaker or a wedge, I would like to keep to a cabinet-like form factor. I've looked a lot at the Friedman ASC-10/12, and while I think they'd be the bees knees if I were using them exclusively I don't think tones dialed in for them would translate as well to headphones and direct recording. They seem to have a lot of character of their own. So while I think they look fantastic and would probably be perfect for some, I'm not considering them right now. I am looking pretty hard at the Mission Io, the Line 6 Powercab, and the Tech 21 Deuce Deluxe. They all seem like solid options, but it's tough to guess how well they'll play with the CLR.

So, if you have any input, I'd be most appreciative!

-VB-