Stereo Wiring for Guitars

Joywalker

I’m fairly new to guitar forums, so I’m not sure how often this gets discussed.

I recently decided to try modding my Telecaster Custom to have a stereo output, sending one pickup to the left and another to the right.

I used a 4-pole 5-way rotary switch to change which pickup comes from which output, and even tried an out-of-phase option between the left and right channels.

StereoMod_Wiring.jpg

You can find out more about the wiring and the stereo tones in this video I recently made.

Have any of you considered doing stereo wiring in your builds/mods?

Rarely. I have a few stereos than I use for bi-amplification (for different tones through different systems), often one pup going to one system and the other to another. Easy peasy to do. Especially with the Fractal.
When I need more sound spread without a FOH, an extension speaker easily handles the task.

The simple fact is, it’s not well presented in FOH to worry about it. 50+ gigs I’ve had over the last 12 months couldn’t really support it well (these are FOH supported 1000+ seating rooms). Sounds great at home though.

I trust you’re sending each pup to a different sounding amp system, otherwise you could create the same sound stage with an extension speaker if no FOH is being used.

I have a few Rics and a few mag/piezo items (used to have an ES347) that benefit from that.

As an example: my 4003 I love the bridge pup through a SVT and the neck through a modern style amp.
Needless to say the mag/piezos require a guitar amp as well as something more akin to a tube pre.

I must say, it is refreshing to see a post where this is the wiring that I have done and a good diagram. I opened the post expecting someone asking how to do this.