Pro setup really necessary?

Do I really have to get my bass set up by a pro?  I'm usually able to do a decent job myself, short of levelling and recrowning.  I'm not looking for low action on this bass, either.

i build them all myself, and I'm not a pro guitartech, and they all play just fine.

Warmoth frets are really level, with rare exceptions. However, the fret ends always seem toothy to me - if I'm playing a sweaty four-hour gig, there's no way I could play a Warmoth without attending to those teeth.  :laughing8: It's an exceedingly small adjustment, you just need to take that hair-edge off with some 220 wet/dry sandpaper, polish with 600 and steel wool - it takes almost longer to first tape the fretboard, than to fix the frets. I wouldn't advise doing it without read Dan Erlewine's "Guitar Player Repair Guide" first.

Warmoth's quality is good enough that you can usually get them set up by yourself if you know what your doing (definitely get Dan Erlewine's book though). That being said I've been lucky enough to have some of my guitars and basses set up by truly great luthiers (Mike Koontz of Ferndale, MI and Larry Cragg of San Anselmo, CA) and nothing compares to the mojo that those guys can put into an instrument.

The only things that I've had to do was deepen the nut slots, dress the top of the nut, adjust the neck relief, action, and intonation.

I don't think a pro setup is required (although a good set of nut files is).

mayfly said:
The only things that I've had to do was deepen the nut slots, dress the top of the nut, adjust the neck relief, action, and intonation.

I don't think a pro setup is required (although a good set of nut files is).

This is stuff I don't know how to do.  So, I take my newly built guitars in to get this done.  The results have been rewarding.