ok, I want a starcaster

mayfly

Epic Member
Gentlemen,

I would like to buy this:

starcasterfront.jpg

Surely we can we come to some arrangement.

Yours,

Mayfly

P.S. I'm more interested in the body than the headstock.  Actually, not really interested in the headstock at all if that helps.

I'm quite familiar with the Starcaster, and the unusual headstock is as much a piece of the distinctive appeal as the offset seni-hollow body.

+1 for the suggestion, however we know any W version would be bodyshape only and chambered instead of semi-hollow, which is fine with me. 

While we're at it, and w/out a hijack, I'd like an L5S bass....seriously.

I lusted after one of those for the longest time - I think it has to do with my age, and a specific Fender catalog I basically wore to shreds - I graduated high school in 1975, so it might have been a 75 catalog? Alas, then I actually have had a chance to play a few - a maple neck, bolted to a maple plywood body with the three-screw tilt feature, with a sort-of center block - even the "Full-Range" pickups couldn't save that. I'm not one of those people who think sustain is the only indication of quality, but those things are like banjos.

At that time, Fender was in the deepest throes of the CBS it's-just-another-product cost-cutting geniuses. It's a great shape.... but I'm pretty sure that if you duplicated all the dimensions, using better wood and parts, it would still suck, because it was engineered by people who didn't play guitar. There's actually quite a few of the custom custom guys who will do offset semi-hollowbodies, but they know what makes guitars good too. Heck for the price of one Starcaster, you could have had four Ovation Eclipses:

Eclipse_Ovation_Ad.jpg

http://www.ovationtribute.com/Ovation%20Promo/Eclipse_Ovation_Ad.html

I had one, and that was more than enough. The plasticine goo used on Ovation bowl backs, used for an entire guitar! Eeek....