Neck heavy?

rdb93

Hi there,

This is my first time posting, so hopefully I’m in the right section. If not, please feel free to move.

I am in the process of planning my first Warmoth build, but am somewhat concerned it could be neck heavy. I am hoping to opt for the following options:

Body:
  Strat style
  Roasted alder
  Chambered
  F-hole
  Universal route
  Maple cap
  Vintage style Callaham tremolo with steel block

Neck:
  22 fret
  Roasted maple
  Fatback profile
  CBS headstock
  Non-locking/reasonably light tuners.

I just wanted to check, based on past experience from previous builds do people think this will balance OK or potentially risk being neck heavy? I did contact Warmoth and they said they couldn’t make any guarantees, but estimated that the body (without hardware) would be in the region of 3-4 lbs and that the neck would likely sit somewhere between 1 lb 8 oz and 1 lb 12 oz.

I’m aware this will be a light guitar overall, but I just wanted to check whether it is likely to be neck heavy once hardware has been added? The last thing I want is a beautiful new guitar with drastic neck dive!

Any help or advice from experienced Warmoth enthusiasts would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you :)

Buy a body from the showcase with a specific weight or ask for the desirable weight if you custom order. The lightest body I have is 3lbs, 14oz and the guitar is not neck heavy. I suggest not to go for an anemic body and you will probably be OK. My W necks are from Wenge, Maple and Goncalo Alves. All guitars are balanced.

While not impossible, it's difficult to make a neck-heavy Strat due to the body design/strap hanger locations. Even relatively light bodies can take what would seem like a heavier neck without much problem. But, roasted Maple necks are generally very light, often coming in around 1 lb. even after tuners are installed. So, I wouldn't be concerned.

A while ago I put a roasted maple neck on a fairly light Strat body I had and it did fine.