Meanwhile, at Warmoth: Release the Cracken!

Wizard of Wailing said:
    I started playing guitar in 1988.  I seem to remember a lot of guitars with this look back then.

I started in '85, and a couple years later, I was seriously jonesing for one of these Charvel Fusion guys (which, in retrospect,  because of the Kahler and locking nut, I'm glad I never got one of):

gyxes7polruyovaononz.jpg

Bagman67 said:
Wizard of Wailing said:
    I started playing guitar in 1988.  I seem to remember a lot of guitars with this look back then.

I started in '85, and a couple years later, I was seriously jonesing for one of these Charvel Fusion guys (which, in retrospect,  because of the Kahler and locking nut, I'm glad I never got one of):

gyxes7polruyovaononz.jpg
Uhhhmmm, that's got a Floyd...  :icon_scratch:

I lusted after a couple Charvel Fusiojs in crackle or seafoam, but none ever followed me home. Seeing these again stirs up some feelings. The neck singoe really should've been reverse angled though.

DangerousR6 said:

You're probably right - but at the same time Kahler was marketing a trem that looked an awful lot like a Floyd, possibly I remember it from the Carvin catalogs of the same era.  The missing Floyd logo in the admittedly poor photo here is replaced by what is likely a Jackson brand, not Kahler.

EDIT:

Here's the one I was thinking of, offered on the Fender HM Strat in the late '80s - the Kahler Spyder.

iu

You're both right. Kahler did sell a Floyd Rose-style bridge for Carvins back in the '80s that got installed on some Jacksons. That's one of them, which you can tell by the dual knife-edge fuclrum as opposed to the fixed-mount Kahler bridges are known for.

They also had one on a Washburn N2 (Nuno) that was pretty good.
I had one back then and it was a great guitar, very reliable.