I was bored over my Summer holidays, so I decided to try design a guitar...

Axkoa

I'll preface this post with saying that I have almost absolutely NO chance of building this guitar soon, within a year or two, as I'm currently a first year University student studying Engineering that has no job...  :help:

So after I finished up some work repairing brass instruments over my (too long) holidays I got bored during the wait between the end of working and the start of University, so I decided to try my hand at designing a guitar. I don't have any experience with this kind of stuff so many hours were sunk into researching as well as lots of guessing work...and tedious times learning eMachineShop.

The first thing that I did was sketch up something that I wanted the end result to look somewhat like. I've been lusting over offset guitars since I started playing guitar so I decided to try design one of them, something that 2 years of Senior graphics at school helped me with... I'm pretty sure the day that I started drawing this up I had visited a guitar store and had a try at one of Fender's new Orange Duo-Sonics, so I was just a little bit influenced by that day out. Mainly with the colour of the guitar and the scale length of it, which I actually really enjoyed playing, it just felt right. I also really enjoyed playing with the maple fretboard, which contrasted nicely with the orange of the guitar. But anyway, here is my original (very) rough sketch with some of the potential specs I would have with it:

U80aP5E.jpg

Most of the hardware and woods I had done a little bit of research on that's why they're not your typical mahogany, ash, maple etc. That kind of stuff is too expensive to source in Australia.  :laughing11:

After this I decided to try out making this in a newly downloaded free program "eMachineShop". After taking some (lots) time to work out how the hell to work the program I came up with a somewhat version of that sketch I had done in an electronic form.