Albert Lee-Alike: A project that will probably take me a while, but hey

ragamuffin

I've been formulating this project in my head for the past couple of months, and I'm finally taking the first steps towards making it happen. I've been gas-ing for a modern H-H strat-type-thing (funny because for a long time I never got along with strats) and I fell in love with the Music Man Albert Lee shape. It's kind of retro, and with the right appointments it will perfectly suit the retro-modern look that I want. That will mean shaping the body myself, which I've never done before.

After months of throwing around different colors and specs I've mostly settled on this:
-Rear routed, burgundy mist metallic alder Albert Lee body (I'll likely get it finished by MJT)
-Warmoth (of course!) warhead neck, wenge with ziricote, no inlays
-Two low/moderate output hb's, I plan to use open face covers and make wenge face inserts, direct mounted
-One volume, one tone, three way switch, push-pull out-of-phase switch
-Hipshot contour trem and locking tuners

Below is a quick and dirty mockup

I'm talking with a guy about making me a CNC'd body template, and I just got a bandsaw in the mail from Amazon! Can't wait to start practicing my body shaping!

Attachments

• Screen Shot 2019-09-19 at 1.23.24 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2019-09-19 at 1.23.24 PM.png
    238.7 KB · Views: 37
This is a cool project! There's nothing more rewarding than making a guitar with your own body shape. Take your time and it'll come out fantastic. This will be fun to follow.

I've got wood! I got some 1.75 poplar from a local lumber supplier and glued up a practice blank, the grain looks really nice. Almost too nice... If all goes well maybe it will have to be a guitar itself one day.  :dontknow:

I also ordered my Warmoth blank, maybe I'll get it around Christmas