What is the basic concept of guitar wiring?

WindsurfMaui

I'm trying to learn how to do complex (to me) guitar wiring. I'm not an electrician so I always thought the electrical wiring in a guitar worked like water it flowed in and then had to flow out. That is there is an input wire and then an output wire  on any switch. But as I look at various wiring diagrams I see that  there are times that tone pots only have one wire connected to it's lugs. And I can't wrap my head around how the input wire to that tone pot is also the output wire from the tone pot and how it effects the sound. Water can't flow down and then back up (as far as I know). So can someone enlighten me in non electrical engineering terms the concept of how the charge flows through the guitar switches? Specifically how does a tone pot work if it only has one wire connected to it? Thanks

Check out the sticky at the top of this forum.

A very useful link is this one.

https://www.seymourduncan.com/blog/latest-updates/guitar-wiring-diploma-course

The signal to the tone pot does not come back out again it is bled off to ground. That is also covered in the series of articles that can be found in the above link.

Here too ... https://www.fralinpickups.com/2017/03/03/volume-tone-pots-101/

WindsurfMaui said:
But as I look at various wiring diagrams I see that  there are times that tone pots only have one wire connected to it's lugs.

The Tone pot serves one purpose — bleed signal to Ground. One lug connects to HOT (the wire), another lug another connects to GROUND (the back of the pot).

I'm reading everything I can find but most of the places skip steps because they understand the concept but people like me don't. Some times pots have in wires and out wires and sometimes they don't. DPDT switches have input side and output side but what exactly is being sent out depending on which lug you connect to?? I need a basic high school priimer on  how electricity/sound travels through these parts.