Virtual Guitar Builder Project Underway...

frown

Co-incidentally to Warmoth adding their new 'Picture It' Tool on their Shop In Stock bodies, I'd already started developing my idea for a simple virtual guitar builder inspired by the Custom Builder, and a line drawing of a Strat I saw online. Being that I am a web designer / front end developer] and in need of a new project to amuse myself, ideally one that was functional and useful to at least myself, I came up with the idea of setting myself a challenge that would also result in a utility of use to others!

The first draft is online:

https://frown.online/virtual-guitar-builder/ - erratic DNS issues with .online TLD, if not loading, try:

https://luminancedesign.co.uk/dev/virtual-guitar-builder/ - temp alternative to above primary location

Limited options as yet ["Booooo" I hear you say!  :laughing7:] to just a Strat, as I have so much to do [now I have it working - colour options, SVG artwork for component options, images for wood / pickguards etc are still to come], but you'll get the idea of what I'm working towards. Once this is completed, I have more plans for more models, configuration saving / spec list generation etc...

Then, maybe I'll take some suggestions and requests - to help others render their dream guitar!  ???  :icon_scratch:

For the web savvy; being a CSS nut, I set myself a challenge of building it purely in HTML and CSS with SVG and some images for the visual - no scripts, databases, image stacking [although logically that would be simple as anything to do, just bonkers intensive - both on image processing in creation and loading / rendering], with the addition of also making it mobile friendly with some RWD.