Troubleshooting a tube combo...

cdub

I use two Carvin 50 watt EL84 amps (a VT50 head and a Nomad 1x12, totally identical chassis and schematic, same amp) to get stereo sound from a smallish pedal board in my home. I noticed a lack of stereo effect this morning and sure enough, the combo amp is making a faint 60hz hum and I’m getting zero output whether slaved or through the preamp. Fuse is good. Visually both amps have 4 glowing power tubes and preamp tube 1 glows while 2-4 do not, so the bad amp and good amp seem to be heating the filaments the same. What now? I can handle pulling the chassis and safely draining the caps. I’m an electrician so I’m fully aware of safety and would use a resistor setup to drain them without incident.

Most likely, if it’s a “bad tube” (open circuit) I can handle replacing and re-biasing. If it’s the PT or OT, the amp will probably get sold as is for parts/to be repaired by someone with cash to play and time to dump.

Any suggestion? Party on.

Not a tube expert by any means, but what else have you done as far as trouble shooting? Have you tried the "dead" amp by itself, (a guitar directly into the amp)? Tried using a different channel/input, (is it only one channel)? Tried switching outputs from your board, (could it be a pedal problem)? Checked whatever you're using to split your signal? Simple things I know, but sometimes we miss the obvious, and the guys who can really help are going to want to know....

Good luck, hope it works out in your favor.

As Steve pointed out, the process of elimination will help you figure out what's going on.  Some more thoughts:

1 - straight into the amp / different channels (as Steve mentions)
2 - straight into the effects loop (with a line level signal)
3 - straight into the amp, then out of the effects loop into another amp/speaker

Based on the results of that we can offer more ideas.  If push comes to shove and the amp is dead I know a great amp tech here in Ottawa who can likely fix it.  :)