Refinishing a damaged Koa / Mahogany Soloist with Tru-Oil (by a beginner)

Dazkeirle

So I should prefix this by saying that I bought this body for a deal, from Australia, just before the Covid stuff started (I'm in the UK).

It took 3 1/2 months and in which time my focus shifted and I made the Dreamsicle / Orange Split Fender / Prs hybrid in this forum.

https://www.unofficialwarmoth.com/index.php?topic=31700.0

So during that build, the soloist body did arrive, but unfortunately it had took some damage to the front horn. I did try a repair, but despite a good start I balls it up. I got a good colour match and fill but the clear nail varnish I used didn't cure properly.

2viNGtk.jpg

6NJsaDO.jpg

l4zuRg7.jpg

ir0Xfwt.jpg

I should prefix this by saying I have no wood working experience or practical experience at all. When I started this I owned a few sheets of sandpaper (no bench, no orbital, no facemask lol).

So, it was either put this in the cupboard or consider something else. Something I’ve always wanted, a nice no-lacquer natural finish guitar.

While I don’t want to use lacquer, I do want to use Tru-oil. I’ve gained a lot of experience using this on my orange Strat’s neck and what I learned is:

- It is easy to get a very glossy, thick hard finish if you do lots of very thin coats
-It gives a lovely lustre to the grain
-It slightly darkens the wood
-It is very repairable, if you ding it, another coat melts into the old

These are all qualities I love about TO, and that I hate about lacquer.

So, I now needed to remove the finish on the guitar, easy right, just get some sand paper. A couple of hours job?..... How wrong could I be?

I started at the horn end, creating enough damage to the finish that I was fully commited. OK on the front here what we appear to have is a layer of lacquer, a layer of paint and then the wood. The back was different, no lacquer - just paint.

DwOh3iO.jpg