Recommend me some good, inexpensive home stereo equipment

War_in_D

Hey all, I know there are some audiophiles here so I thought I'd try to pick your brains a little.  My wife has recently gotten into vinyl again, and we bought an inexpensive "all in one" type turntable to play what she has aquired over the last few months.. The problem, this player to my ears.. is HORRIBLE.  Speakers are trash, and it sounds like it's playing through a wet towel.  She just liked it because it looked "old".  So, I mentioned something to her about possible building/buying a better home stereo system... but, I have zero knowledge when it comes to these things.  I was too young when the whole "build the ultimate component home stereo" thing was popular. LOL 

I figure that I'm probalby looking at buying separate components (turntable, receiver, power section, etc..), so what should I be looking for with regard to brands, models, etc..  I'm thinking of buying good used higher end stuff that you can get reasonably, but if there are new options that don't break the bank I'd certainly entertain that too.  Would be adding some type of CD player to it as well, so it would need to be compatible with that.

So, lay it on me!  What do you guys recommend?

What’s your maximum price point for a complete system which would include vinyl, cd, mp3, USB port, speakers, receiver tuner ...

rick2 said:
What’s your maximum price point for a complete system which would include vinyl, cd, mp3, USB port, speakers, receiver tuner ...

Honestly, I'm not really sure but I wouldn't want to get more than $300-$500 total tied up in it.  I wouldn't need mp3 or USB ports.  Mainly looking at turntable, some type of CD player, receiver, power section if the receiver wasn't powered and speakers.  I'm not trying to build something that would be an audiophile's wet dream, but I'm thinking anything would be better than what we currently have. LOL