Nitro blushing from buffing...did I jump the gun?

ibolazzz

Hey there, I'm wondering if any of you can help out a novice here.  I clear coated over my decal'ed headstock using Mohawk Finisher's Choice lacquer (M102) with 3 thin coats and then 6 thicker ones (albeit not runny thick, just orange peel thick).  Everything looked great when I was done, so I then waited a week and a half before I got impatient.  The surface felt hard enough and there didn't seem to be any solvent smell left, so I wet-sanded up to 2000 grit.  The surface looked great and ready for buffing so I waited another day and started the buffing using the hand-drill/stewmac drill buffer pad and Meguiar's #7 and then #9. 

Right after I was done, everything looked GREAT!  I was so excited because this was my first neck!  However, after a couple of minutes I noticed some cloudiness start to appear gradually on the headstock face edges...not much, but noticeable when looking up close.  I googled to see if this was "blushing" and it seems like it is.  I know I should have taken pictures (stupid me...) but I panicked a bit and decided to wet sand the cloudiness out.  It seems like it worked, but I'm hesitant to buff it again just to have the cloudiness reappear with the added heat from friction.  For you experienced finishers out there, is it because I didn't wait long enough for the lacquer to harden enough?  I know its hard to help without pictures, that's on me, but any advice will be very welcome.  Thanks!

If the blush is now gone and you have enough lacquer still on then wait a couple of weeks or more before repeating the process. Patience is the word...time waits for no man but sometimes it is worth waiting for time.

When you have wet sanded the layers beneath the topcoats have not been fully dry and the moisture will have caused the blushing. A mist coat of lacquer can also get rid of the blushing effect.

stratamania said: