Decal on finished headstock - major reflection from certain angles

Stratastrophe

Hi all. I'm new to finishing, and currently experimenting with applying a decal to a finished headstock. I've been spending time reading among these and other forums, and have been spending time practicing with spare decals and clear poly on blank wood panels. I have read advice on tips for blending edges, as well as ways to "soften" decals via either vinegar/water solutions or using proper decal softeners (Microsol, Solvaset, Mr. Mark Softer, etc.), and the sanding/clear coat process.

I recently experimented with putting a decal straight onto the back of the headstock of a finished headstock, as a test to see how it would look. This is sort of one step further in my experimentation, so I can observe and learn before trying any real actual finishing.

The decal has not had any clear coat put on top of it yet (as I don't intend to keep this one - it's just a trial). I have noticed that the decal looks pretty good when looking straight on, but under certain angles of light, the entire decal gives off a massive reflection - not just the edges, but the whole decal. As part of my learning process, I am trying to determine if this shine/glow is due to any of the following:
1. "Silvering", i.e., the adhesion is not good enough and/or there is air trapped behind the decal. (So this might be mitigated with use of a softener for future decal application trials)
2. It's a "coat mismatch", and would eventually fade as if I were to go through the clear coat and sanding process (something I will eventually do but not until I've got my processes much more fine tuned).
3. It's just the decal film itself - either too thick, or wrong material, etc.. In this case, I'm guessing I would need to obtain decals from a different supplier.