Newbie questions for first build

Last Triumph

Hi everyone - little bit of history before I ask my questions as it might give an insight into what will work best for me.

I play left handed and have played for about 20 years - self taught to a moderate standard.

I'm pretty much trapped in the 80's in terms of the guitar music I like to play but have driffted into the 70's/90's from time to time.

I love to play music similar toearly GNR, Def Leppard, Motley Crue, White Snake etc - not so much the tone, but the style/medody etc.

I play through a Marshall Valvestate S240 which has a wonderful bi-stereo chorus and reverb.

I tend to play either very clean - crystal shimmering chrome plated rich clean without the slightest hint of fuzz, or full on scooped out heavy distortion with harmonics, stinging leads.

I have only ever played / owned 2 guitars, a Gibson Les Paul Standard and a Jackson Dinky.

The Les Paul is lovely if a little hard work and heavy and the tone is nice, if a little muddy at times - wood? pickups?

The Jackson is pretty poor to be fair - tone too thin and a little crude and harsh, I'm just not a trem guy in all honesty.

Being a lefty really limits choice on the market and having always wanted to build my own guitar, I researched the Warmoth offerings and it looks to be the way forwards to get just what I want.

On the basis that they no longer offer the Wolfgang any more, I'm leaning towards a a solid arch top tele with a string through TOM bridge and twin humbuckers, 22 fret neck.

Here are my questions - please bare with me as I don't know enough to feel confident in making important decisions.

Woods...  I definately want a dyed quilted maple top, but need some inspiration as to the body wood to give me rich tone and shimmering cleans and decent sustain - I think mahogony might be a bit too muddy? Any suggestions?

Neck... I think I want a maple finger board..... any ideas on the neck wood to give good sustain and not too harsher tone?