My tech has broken my new roasted maple neck :(

Cagey said:
Actually, I'm usually pretty good about reading stuff, even instructions. But, usually only once. My memory isn't worth a tinker's dam but it's not like I'm a chicken, where every day is a new life.

I hear you.  I constantly alway have to double check the simplest things...like the input jack.  I ALWAYS mix up the ground and hot.  I always look before I connect just to make sure.

AirCap said:
Guys, I've been doing repairs for 40 years. I already told you.... someone was lazy and didn't drill for the screws. I've had to fix bunches of them after some dipwap DIY yahoo split the peghead.
I agree wholeheartedly, I was just looking for a geometric correlation.
Hendrix said:
unless it is Quartersawn , the crack would not be in perpendicular mirror to other side .
Good point. So I lightened the image, and played with the contrast, and I was able to better see where the crack emerged on the back of the headstock, and indeed it is offset. So I traced the crack along the edge, (Green line). Now, drawing a line parallel to the crack on the front, through the point where the crack emerges on the back, (yellow line), we get a much better indication of where the screw would need to be in order to crack the headstock as shown. After checking a drawing of Kluson type vintage tuners, it looks to be exactly where it should be. Geometric correlation achieved. (Just to satisfy my own curiosity.....)  :glasses9:

Attachments

• 30d611e19c561e93b0209057600a472a.png
    30d611e19c561e93b0209057600a472a.png
    694.2 KB · Views: 373
Well, at least he didn't drop it.  Damn those screws!! (or those guys who don't believe in pilot holes)

Cagey said:
Where is this warning?

Every Warmoth Roasted Maple neck should arrive with a little piece of paper rubber banded to it, that says this: