Maple neck stain fail,help!

Byron

I am refinishing the back of the neck on an old Pbass. I sanded the neck and back of the headstock leaving the OEM face alone. The plan was to tint and truoil the neck.
The plan worked great on the edge and back of the headstock, but the neck would not take transtint dye in spots that still had finish. I don't know what the last guy used, but they left the date on the heel and the face original. I am afraid to sand off anymore wood. The plan now is tint the truoil or tint under the oil as needed. The end grain at the neck and heel transition are the worst areas. Tinting truoil seems to be a touchy subject on the internet. Thanks for the help.

I'll try. I'm not good with the high tech stuff. Seems to have loaded. Note the white area is brighter in better light. The amber has been wiped down with alcohol. The black spots are bare wood.

Attachments

• pbass1.jpg
    pbass1.jpg
    910.6 KB · Views: 23
  • pbass2.jpg
    pbass2.jpg
    853.5 KB · Views: 23
Hmmm, well I don't see why you couldn't tint tru oil varnish. Minwax wipe on polyurethane is kinda that yellowish color by itself. Unless you want to sand or bleach the bare grey/black spots they will remain. How bout trying some test samples on maple scrap wood to see?

I'm going to try tinting the truoil as a test. I read somewhere transtint does not mix with truoil..or other oil based stuff without a solvent. . The list goes on. I wonder if tinted shellac would be good under truoil. I tried to keep all the surfaces flat while sanding so there are a few edges that have the old finish because they were rounded over. If I sand anymore it will be a jazz bass neck.