Locking 2-point Strat Tremolos: Decking, Blocking or Tremol-No?

alexreinhold

Hi all,

Just wanted to get some expert opinions on locking tremolos. Since I like the flexibility of changing tunings, I have traditionally decked most of my Strat tremolos - but I never asked myself if there might be a better solution. Having just finished my first build (on which I use a Hipshot Tremolo), I wanted to ask what the pros and cons of blocking, decking and devices like Tremol-No are - should I decide to "hardtail" the tremolo.

Thanks so much,
Alex

An excellent tremolo is the Falcon tremolo that you'll find on Blade guitars.
While it's decked and doesn't go out of tune when you bend or even break a string, you can actually also pull up on it because of it's unique design.

falcon.jpg

I'm not sure if it's available to buy from them though (without buying one of their guitars), but you could always contact them.

I have been using the Tremol-No for about 14 years now, and I love it.  I keep it in hard tail mode when not in use or when restringing one string at a time, or when in Dropped D assuming I am not using the bar, in dive only if I am using the bar.  If remaining in standard tuning, then I leave it freely floating, at which point you never know it is there.  I think it adds just a ever so slight amount of resonance when in hard tail mode, which I think beefs up rhythm tracks, and while I understand that this is subjective, I might add that I have this installed on my main guitar of 25+ years and my 7 string of 16+ years, so I am very familiar with how these instruments sound and feel when some things change like a piece of hardware or string brand.

TonyFlyingSquirrel said: