Lighter sting gauge gives better sound

Logrinn

So this is probably nothing new for many of you guys, but Rick Beatos video shows the difference in sound by using a different gauge of strings, in a very convincing demo.
I guess my reason for playing .009's* for 40+ years isn't so strange :icon_jokercolor:

[youtube]https://youtu.be/wGXj_NQONYM[/youtube] 

*and .009's on a 24" scale guitar would probably equal .008's on a 25,5" scale guitar, tension wise, if both were tuned to standard E (A=440Hz), I would imagine.

Watched it earlier today and was nice to see the objective comparisons and hear the differences between them.  I have been using 12’s for 30+ years and my main axe is 24.75, I have always felt that when I go to my 25.5” scale 7 string that I have to fight it a bit more, so I have been debating to go to 9’s on it and to a slightly lighter pick than the 1.0mm that I’ve been playing for 35+ years.

That's a good, honest comparison. I must say, the difference is quite noticeable. Thanks for posting this.

interesting, buuuuutttttttt my heavier strings stay in tune better so i'ma keep on staying with them. this kind of stuff is always worth of investigating, tho. it's like they say "trust nothing, smell everything"

More than sound I go with comfort.  I go with 10s just because they respond better to my death grip.  Plus in the 90s I had a source of free strings they were 10s so I got used to them.  Free strings Trump's whatever the gauge is.  Free 11s are better than having to pay for 8s. Ymmv.

Interesting feedback after....

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=677&v=42lF0ITBKHk&feature=emb_title

So SRV's tone could have been better with lighter strings?  :laughing11:

It all comes down to preference. For me, it's 009-046 for electric, and 010-047 for acoustic.

Billy Gibbons used 8's for years, and switched to 7's, and Billy's got some monster tone... :dontknow:

I’ve got a ten box of 10s I have work thru, next batch I’ll try 9s.