haunted neck... updates and video lol

KaiserSoze

Hi.  Standard thin, compound radius, 24 3/4, maple laminate with ebony board, 6130 frets, bridge is wilkinson trem, nut is from Warmoth.  Its been on the guitar for less than two months.

First, on a Know-what-I'm-doing scale I'm about a 7.4 out of ten, so not a complete newbie.

Second, I'm impatient, just sayin'

Third, my initial setup went well and playability was very good for a couple weeks.  It needed minor adjustments as things settled, but nothing huge.

After about 30 days it got to the point that I would need to tweak the relief, set the action, and play for a while.  The next day I would pick it up and there would buzzes all over the fretboard.  Check relief and set action again, fine for a while, next day, action is higher and buzzy.  Same room, temp, humidity.

Change strings, same brand and gauge, set up, plays good, next day, buzzy.  And now my relief is about a business card height and I can't get action better than 1.5mm at the 12 fret without buzzy frets, and not just one or one spot.  Plays like an acoustic.

My question is if its normal to have so much movement after this long?  I can see things settling for a while, and a trem adds a factor to the setup, but this seems like something else.  I would think that maple/ebony would be a stable neck, but something is moving or twisting and I can't figure it out.

Maybe I just need to start from scratch.  Thoughts?

There could be a number of factors.

Is the neck finished?
What are the humidity conditions like where you live, do they fluctuate frequently/drastically?
Has the fingerboard been levelled/dressed and the guitar set up professionally?

I've seen a few necks take a while to settle, but many factors could contribute to what you're experiencing.

I would call your sales rep at Warmoth before taking any further action, let them direct/counsel you as to what would be your most appropriate next move.