First project: flamed maple transparent black tips

M

metalman22105

Hey! I'm new to the forum, I'm about to do my first Warmoth project, a VIP style body (mahogany back, flame maple top) and I was thinking of trying a transparent black dye on top, with a slight black-burst around the edges, and then solid black on the back of the body. Any suggestions, tips/instructions? (I've never done any of this before!)

Welcome to the forum!
Wow, that is a very ambitious first project.  Good for you!
We will have a lot of questions before we can chime in.
1. What kind of clear finish?
2. How do plan on applying it?  
3. What kind of paint application background do you have?
4. What is your level of wood preparation experience?              

Lastly pictures help, Fernando (Nonsense Tele) will go crazy if you don’t post pictures.  :laughing7:

Haha, I'll post pictures for sure, I don't have the body and neck even ordered yet! This is literally my first time building a guitar, so I know NOTHING about finishing/dyes/finishes etc.!! I figured I'd just dye the flame maple a trans black, then blackburst the edges and coat with some type of clear coat, but since I've never done any type of wood finishing, I need to do my homework about it first!!

My suggestion would be that you order your dream guitar from Warmoth and have them finish it the way you want. They do beautiful finish work.  

Do some lesser projects to get your feet wet and gain confidence. Start by refinishing a couple of cheap guitars.  A lot of information can be found right here on the DIY threads. Try using the search feature to look for specific topics.  Most of it is right here for you.