Ebony as a tone wood?

deadmansclick

im thinking of having a jet black body and neck guitar, no different woods at all, just a plain black all ebony unfinished (except for oil) guitar. i want it to be the kind of guitar that exudes power, not with its pretty paintjob (which i do like dont get me wrong) but with its simplicity, and additional customising. the customising will be along the lines of carving/deep deep engraving of calligraphy text which is then filled in using rock hard coloured resin (probably clear amber) and then back lit. gold hardware, and a carved headstock.

ive previously owned a parker fly, and in my opinion there really is no better body shape, and so although i wont be copying that, i do like the idea of an ultra hard strong wood that i can slim down more and carve without worrying too much that it will split or warp.

so obviously im a novice and have never built a guitar, but ill take my time and make sure i get everything planned and talked over before hand.

but, ebony - a wise choice for tone? or not?

i know this guitar sounds a bit dull maybe compared to some of the awesome paint jobs here - but think grande piano, but tuned at the crossroads, or black tie event where the most gentile of guests starts waving a broken bottle around when he realises he hasnt got a payrise......

i think it will be something very special:)

dave
my musics here by the way (just scroll down main page for music link) www.deadmansclick.com (the electric guitar WAS parker fly deluxe  - sold like an idiot - and the acoustic was a tacoma c1c chief - dropped a metal flight case thru it, and it was just about good for firewood.)

i now have one of the new mexican 50s style strats (a bit more weathered looking than the last ones) and a faith venus electro acoustic, which im in love with.#

also - anyone here have any opinion on dimarzio area 58/61's?

i know this is a whole mix of diff topics, but maybe when i settle in ill find my way about

cheers

dave