Doing a Proper Masked Binding

Gemcutter

I'm a noob, so before ruining my quilted Tele I'm practicing putting dye on a maple board. I rounded one corner and got it all sanded down with a radius matching that on the Tele body. I masked the edge and figured I was all ready to go. After applying the water-based dye I noted that I got a significant amount of bleed under the tape. I'm using 1/4" Scotch 06301 (as recommended somewhere in the forum) and I'm not getting the desired result. I cleaned the wood with naphtha and let it dry before taping. I used a plastic pen to push down on the tape for a good seal...still have the bleed.

Any tips and tricks will be very welcome.

All wood is fibrous, so depending on the species its wicking ability ranges from that of newsprint to photo stock. What you need to do is seal it. That'll knock most of its wicking ability back, assuming you've grain-filled it (if necessary).

Masking tape is good for most finishing materials because of the finish's viscosity, which is high relative to dyes. Dyes are microscopically thin, so they tend to sneak in anywhere they can. You need essentially an alcohol-tight seal between the wood and the mask to hold back dye, which means the wood surface has to be very smooth and the mask has to be thin and close. That doesn't occur naturally, hence the need for at least a sealer, if not a filler, and some reasonable sanding. 320 grit is usually good enough.

Sealer...interesting. I was under the impression that with a maple top, no sealer was necessary, and that it really shouldn't be used if applying a water based dye. So just to be very clear - on maple: sand, apply a sanding sealer, sand again (or not?) covering both the wood I want to dye, and the wood I will mask to prevent dying...then mask and dye.

Again, I'm a noob, so I'm sorry for asking questions that are silly for those who have been finishing for a while, but I really appreciate the wisdom.