Can a Telecaster neck be used with a Strat body?

Lewguitar

I have a nice Warmoth Tele neck I'd like to mount on a MIJ Squire body.

The butt end of the Tele neck is more or less straight across whereas the butt end (heel) of a Strat neck is rounded.

I'm a good woodworker and am thinking I could round the end of the Tele neck to fit snugly in the neck pocket of the Strat body. If I get it nice and snug it might even couple with the body better and sound better.

My concern is will I be able to set the intonation correctly, and will the guitar play in tune?

Has anyone done this?

I guess the answer is "yes" and both necks are the same length from the nut to the end of the heel.

But I'll have to reshape the end of the Tele neck to a Strat profile.

Yep that's correct. BTW, re-shaping the heel is such a PITA you might find it's easier to re-route the neck pocket (that's what I did...)

Same scale length but potential to really mess it up. I’d be interested in how you do it. Post pics. 👍

Same scale length but potential to really mess it up. I’d be interested in how you do it. Post pics. 👍
I will. I learned woodworking repairing guitars as a kid and then became a furniture maker. I'm sure I can do a good job.

I was thinking I'd trace the curved shape of the butt end of a Strat neck on the back side of the Tele neck.

Since the Tele neck I plan to use has a 22nd fret extension, I was thinking I'd protect the underside of the extension with some thin metal.

Then i think some files and some sand paper ought to do the trick.

I'll file and sandpaper just short of the line I'll draw on the back of the neck and do a bunch of trial fits until I get the curve and the fit just right.

I think a tight fit is important. Especially at the end of the neck where it presses against the body.

If you have the will and the skill to make modifications, then you can get just about anything to fit.

Otherwise, here is the lowdown: