Brush with fame

mullyman

The other thread with the AC/DC pics got me wondering who you guys have met. If you have any pics, stories, let's hear them.

In the mid 90's I met Valerie Bertinelli on a Van Halen fans mailing list. I talked with her quite a bit but never really believed 100% that it was her. Over a period of about 2 years I slowly grew to believe it. In 1998 when Van Halen came to Japan I got hooked up with "All Access" passes for me and 3 of my friends for the entire Tokyo leg of the tour.

Being a fan of Van Halen since jr. high school, the early 80's, meeting Edward Van Halen was going to be an event for me. I mean, c'mon, he's the entire reason I started playing guitar for God's sake. Anyway, a few weeks before this was to take place it really hit me that I was going to be meeting Edward Van Halen. I started thinking about what I wanted to say to him. One thing for sure, I didn't want to be the fan geek that says something ignorant like "I really love your music". I just wanted to be cool with him. Anyway, the day comes, I show up at the Budokan and meet their tour manager outside. He takes us in the back door and around to the backstage area. We were standing just below the stage, actually near the steps leading up to the stage, and he said "Stay here and let me go get your passes." So he heads off. Well, we're standing there waiting around and the curtain opens and Eddie walks in. He was about 20-30 feet away from me. My first thought when he walked in was "Damn, he's small". Well, one of my friends that was with me had come over from the States for this. He had also gone to Australia while they were there and had the same All Access thing going on so he had already met everyone. Matter of fact, he actually babysat Wolfgang one night when Ed and Val went out around Sydney, but that's another story. Anyway, my buddy walks over to Ed and starts talking and then he points over to me. Now, remember, he's a little guy, like 5' 8" and 150lbs soaking wet