Brand new neck for a newbie - Neck ready from factory??

Skyze

So In the near future, I finally think I am going to get my first Warmoth neck.. I thought about getting one for a long time but I went with Carvin for my last 3 builds.. this time though, since Carvin doesnt do fender headstocks, figured I may try Warmoth if this is the project im doing.

With Carvin's though, you get a completely finished neck out of the box, perfect frets with no need for adjustment (other than the obvious attaching body/setup) - and thats what I want. I have no experience with fret work, and want to keep things simple.

Now reading a few threads in the past on various forums, people say when you order a Warmoth neck, they generally need some finishing work right out of the box, like fret polishing or leveling, nut work, truss rod adjustments.. etc.. Is this true or just myth??

Not really looking to do any work other than fitting it to the Tele body, shimming it and stringing it up, setting intonation.. Do I need to do anything extra with a new warmoth neck?

(I understand if something went wrong thru shipping that would throw things off.. but from my 3 Carvin necks going from California to Eastern Canada and everythings been perfect (except one neck that warped over the year, but when it arrived it was fine) - I dunno how much more of a drastic shipping change can be..)

Short answer: maybe.

I haven't had any work done to the nut or frets since the day I got my neck nearly 3 years ago.
YMMV, of course. There's always a chance a fret will need reseated and the nut is a smidge high on purpose so you can file down if you need. (I left it as is)
Fret ends may need some work, this depends largely on your playing style and how sensitive you are.

I highly recommend the stainless steel frets. They are shinier, wear considerably less, and has no effect on tone vs. traditional frets. (not available w/bound necks though)

Welcome to the forum.