A quick story and a new guitar

Captain Ron

:hello2:
I watched my boy buy a bike and then take most of the parts off and replace them with the 'right stuff' that you buy after.  I thought of getting another stratocaster as I miss the two I had years ago.  When looking to see what I would get I find that I would probably do the same thing, buy a guitar and then throw half the parts away and buy hot rod parts to make it better.  All that advice I gave him against doing that was stareing me in the face.  I decided to just buy the parts that I wanted and it would be better and cheaper than buying a guitar and just saving the decal and changing everything else.  I have some experience, you know at doing that kind of thing.  When I was in college a kid who I barely knew came up to me and said, "Here take this guitar and amp and mike and give me two hundred bucks, I am in trouble deep and need to get the money to extract myself from this quagmire I have embedded myself in.  I will pay you back and pick up my guitar and you can use the guitar till then, within one year".  He said the stuff was worth 4 times that much.  I didn't play guitar and can't for the life of me figure out what combination of magic he brought to bear to talk me into that deal, but he did and I ended up with a blue '62 Stratocaster and a Fender really loud amp.  At 10 minutes to midnight on the 365th day, that guy showed up at the college I went away to and found me in a bar having pizza and beer and wanted his guitar and amp back.  He threw $200 down on the table and motioned to me lets go get it.  By this time, a year of study beaks with the guitar later, I had made friends with the guitar and there was no way he was going to get that guitar back.  After several close encounters of a violent nature we parted friends and he parted with the amp, but not with the guitar.  Thats how it all started.  The bottom 4 frets needed to be changed and my roommate and I took it in to the best music shop we could