Tuning Peg Screw replacements

civilaggie06

Hey everyone,

I am a first time builder and am running into things bordering on the NEWB territory.

I was installing the following Gotoh tuners.http://www.stewmac.com/Hardware_and_Parts/Tuning_Machines/Solid_Peghead_Guitar_Tuning_Machines/Gotoh_Magnum_Lock_Trad_6_In_Line_Tuners.html

After lining everything up and boring the holes for the screws I installed 3 tuners successfully. Got to the last 3 and I managed to strip the screws .

My question is if you had to replace the screws that come with tuners you buy where can you pick up just the screws without having to buy another whole set of the Tuners?

I tried Lowes and Home Depot and the screws sizes appear to be too big.

From what I can tell the length of the screw is about 12 mm and the thread length is 2.4mm

Any help or suggestions anyone can provide is most appreciated.

Best regards,

Sam Y.

Welcome to the forum.

I am assuming you are in the US, so will leave one of the US members to advise on well-stocked hardware stores.

On a related note, did you wax the screws before using them? 

It would seem that this was probably not the case and why they stripped. If so you have avoided something worse, which is a screw snapped off in the headstock.

I leave this as a cautionary note for reference:

Wax screws for use in hardwoods such as guitar necks.

Here is a link to a post I made where there are some photos and info on pre-threading the holes and so forth.

It might be useful to someone who comes across this thread looking for information.

http://www.unofficialwarmoth.com/index.php?topic=22445.msg336528#msg336528

When you say you "stripped the screws", do you mean the holes lost their threads, the screws lost their threads, or the heads of the screws snapped off?

If the holes lost their threads, they were too big to start with. 

If the screws lost their threads, that would be weird.