Tops - influences on sound?

Zakkyboy

Hi everyone,

as a Warmoth newbie I m planning to order a neck and body.

Not just for the look I m considering to take a strat body with a maple top (maybe a quilted top). Do the tops, that Warmoth offers (on a flat body, not a carved one), influence the sound or are they more like a veneer?  In the end it depends on the thickness of the top.

The warmoth hp says:

"Laminating a thin top to a guitar body does not significantly alter the tone of the instrument."

What are your experiences?

Cheers  :)

In my experience, hollow/chambered/solid makes little or no difference, and laminated or not makes little or no difference, at least amplified. Acoustically, sometimes you can hear some difference. For instance, a hollow Tele I put together recently is somewhat louder than you'd expect a Tele to be when played acoustically. Electrically, I don't think it's audible. But, it's impossible to compare these things because you can't build a solid body, play it, then hollow it out and play it again. Then, trying to compare two different bodies, one hollow and one not, doesn't work because the wood itself isn't the same.

Most of the benefit of hollow/chambered bodies is in weight and most of the benefit of laminated tops is in appearance. Neither one have much effect on tone. The neck will have more influence than the body, and that's not saying much. The pickups and the player are the controlling factors, for the most part.

Cagey said:
because you can't build a solid body, play it, then hollow it out and play it again. Then, trying to compare two different bodies, one hollow and one not, doesn't work because the wood itself isn't the same.

True enough... And I 100% agree with the rest of what you say, but to be a total jerk  :icon_jokercolor: and pure devils advocate, it wouldnt be impossible to compare. (otherwise we'd have no approved medications and medicine would never move forward.)