Tinted Finish on this Neck... Where to start

GUNSNGUITARS

I have a neck I just built, Birdseye on Flame Maple. I have only finished 3 guitars so I'm relatively new at finishing. I have looked through recent topics trying to find out the answer to my question but couldn't find what I was looking for... so I apologize if it has been posted before. Basically I have some Vintage Amber dye and I am going to shoot my guitar and Neck with KTM-9 from lmii.com. What is a good baseline to start at for Dye/Finish to achieve this finish ON NECK (click on link) http://guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/GL-Comanche-Electric-Guitar?sku=510980

Also has anyone else ever used KTM-9. I bought a quart of it and am going to try it out. Sounds like some pretty good reviews on it. I have sprayed with Nitro in the past, but it is 2 degrees this morning in Wisconsin, which may be just a tad bit too cold to spray outside. Thanks guys
Tim

KTM-9 a water based finish....

Make sure your dye is compatible with it.

You're gonna have to vary things a bit.  That is, go sort of a light amber on the first coat, and see how it colors.  The combination of dye, KTM-9 and wood will be unique, so... this will be a bit of an experiement, but I think it can be controlled.

I'd try to spray some KTM-9 first, on a scrap piece and see how thick it goes down.  Its always better to lay on several light layers of a dyed coat, getting the color you want, then go clear only, as a topcoat.

So, try a light mix... not too amber, but lay on a few coats - IF - the build up is not excessive.  If you think it will be, then you're gonna have to increase the dye in the mix so you're total build up is not too great.  Then... prepare for at least TWO top clear coats so you can have ample finish to level and buff and not dig into the dyed subcoats.