staining and finishing basswood (cerused top)

skillonoroff

Hi guys,
please excuse me if there are typos or duplicity, since this is my first topic raised here, and english is not my native language.

I'm working on my basswood body and I'm trying to achieve the exact same finish as this guitar has. This is my first project, so I really have not too much experience with staining (besides staining bed frame and shelves...)
https://mayones.com/page/duvell-elite-gothic-6/

I thought, that this might be the way to get desired results. I intend to use black water-based stain, and then some sort of metallic or pigmented wax to make the grain pop out. I want the body sides and bottom to be natural, maybe stained to slightly darker color.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4AaDPin2EDo&ab_channel=GunsandGuitars

How do I preserve or seal the body after staining to get that nice, matt but silky surface? Would linseed oil be a good choice, or should I use teak or any other oil?
Many thanks guys, and once again, sorry for my grammars.
Cheers,

Jakub

My first thought is tru oil but that is a gloss. Not super glossy but gloss nonetheless.  I know wudtone in England makes a low gloss satin top coat that's easy to apply.  It might worth contacting them.  I'm sure others here will chime in with other finish choices.  You could go also with a satin poly wipeon.  I've used them on doors.

I don't think you can get that result using basswood. You need to have a wood with a deep grain like ash or mahogany. Basswood and alder have a very tight grain that doesn't enable you to accent the grain like the others I mentioned.

Michael

Welcome to the forum.

This type of finish needs an open grain wood such as ash to achieve such a finish. Basswood is too close grained for it to work in the same way.