Obsidian Wire and Rear Routing (Also a Pickup Question)

RJMFry

Shalom,

I was directed by the kindly folks at Warmoth to posit my question here, so I'll try to keep this quick.

I'm a first timer in considering building a Partscaster, and the whole Warmoth deal seems really appealing to me, especially with my idealized, super adulterated instrument that I would likely never find at the casual GC or Sweetwater catalogue.

I'm particularly interested in going with a rear-routed option to preserve those sweet, sweet grain lines on a quilted maple top. My problem is this: I'm a complete novice when it comes to the mild electrician work required to wire up pots and pickups. I have experience building computers, which is why rolling my own Partscaster seems so appealing, but apart from the most casual enthusiast grade components in PC building, I've no experience in wiring/soldering/etc...

That's why Obsidian Wire seems so appealing to me, especially given they have a harness that uses a super switch for jumping between 500k and 250k pots for the HSS setup that I'm eyeing (more on that  later). I'm not averse to wiring or learning, as I've got a partner in crime who rolled a Partscaster back in the day to help me, but I like the cleanliness and the professional look of a pre-wired PCB (blame that on my PC builder upbringing), and I've read some pretty dang good things about Obsidian.

Here's my problem though: in order to get the setup I want, I'm pretty much forced into using a rear routed path, even though I would prefer rear-routed anyways because of my love for some good wood (enjoy that one). My question is this: has anyone here used Obsidian before and had experience with them, and have you ever used a harness in wiring a rear routed instrument? I'm concerned the pot shafts might not be long enough given that the distance between the back of the socket and the top of the guitar is longer than that of a standard pickguard.