noob head check: strat conversion neck, drill holes, etc, done šŸ˜?

tiscoat

noob here.

i was thinking of buying a gibson scale conversion neck for my strat. i'm also naturally hesitant since i have zero experience with any guitar tech work aside from changing strings, haha!

here is the picture i have in my head. please tell me if it is wishful thinking.

i'm imagining receiving the custom-spec neck with tilt back from warmoth.

1. Fit it into the neck pocket carefully.

2) secure it in place

3) by hand, insert drill bit with appropriate diameter through existing body holes to mark the neck.

4) lay plate on body and drop bolts through to measure the depth I will need to drill into the neck heel.

5) removing neck and drill pilot holes in the correct location and at the correct depth as determined by steps 3 and 4.

6) change drill bit and drill into the heel the actual diameter holes that are to receive the neck bolts

7)) carefully refit neck into pocket

8) putting neck plate and bolts on.

9) add tuning machines and string guitar

10) believing I am done, start playing guitar .

Last edited:
That's just the beginning! You'll need to adjust the action, intonation, truss rod, etc to make it play how you like it.

That's just the beginning! You'll need to adjust the action, intonation, truss rod, etc to make it play how you like it.
Besides all of those things, there could be more things you need to do. You seem to be assuming that the new neck and the neck pocket are going to be a perfect fit, with absolutely no play whatsoever, and the center of the neck will just be perfectly centered with the bridge. Youā€™ll want to make sure thatā€™s correct before you start drilling holes and screwing the neck to the body. A straight edge long enough to go from the nut to the bridge is going to be your friend. Maybe everything will be just right, but probably not. I wouldnā€™t leave any of that to chance.