No-Finish Fatbacks in the Showcase

iamdavidmorris

Dear Warmoth,

After carefully watching the RSS feed for several months, I have come to the conclusion that fatback necks requiring no finish rarely appear in the showcase.  It's not that I don't trust the business model, as you've been around for more than 30 years now, but as I understand supply and demand, it seems there may need to be some inventory analysis.  I am an Inventory Analyst by profession, and offer the following analysis free of charge:

As of around 5:30 CST this evening, there were 94 Fatback necks in the showcase.  88 were Maple.  2 were Mahogany.  2 were Walnut.  2 were Padouk.  In fairness, there was all variety of Maple, including every wood variation, several headstocks, and various fretboards.  However, there were many common combinations.

Shortly thereafter, I surveyed the category "Exotic Necks."  Since this included Mahogany, I assume it's everything NOT maple, but I haven't confirmed that.  I came up with eight pages of inventory, which included 155 necks.  75 of these require a finish in order to maintain the warranty, and I excluded them.  Of the remaining 80 necks, 63 were Standard Thin, 15 were '59 Roundback, and there were the 2 Fatback Padouk necks (1 Tele and one LP).

I once saw a Wenge Fatback appear in the RSS feed, and it seemed to go pretty quickly.  While I don't know everything about your sales model, it seems to me you might do well to add a few more Fatbacks to the showcase that don't require a finish.  Especially with my birthday coming up next week.

Sincerely,
Solid

Solid, although you said it nicely, you've got to do what I did: understand that you're on the smaller group of Warmoth customers: the Fatback profile... If you ask me to guess, I'd say Warmoth sells 20x more Standard Thin than Fatback. As they're a production line kind of company, they make to showcase what sell quick...