Neck size for 7/8 scale LP?

My young son is a very good guitarist and deserves a quality instrument. All mass produced childrens guitars are junk. I've decided to make a 7/8 scale Les Paul style I will make the body my self and use a Warmoth neck. The full scale LP body is 25-1/2" long, my body will be 22-3/8" long. Does any body know what length the neck needs to be so it intonates correctly? I am a good woodworker but this will be my first guitar build.

:icon_scratch:
If you're using 22-3/8" you'll have to build it from scratch or ask someone to build it for you... Never heard of a company doing something in that scale... How is he?

Personally I think you should pass the ball on the ground (brazilian footballistic slang for play easy, no shinny things) and get a 24-3/4" LP with hollow option (I would more worried about weight than size)... There is many guys who began played about 6, 8 years and played in the normal size one...

If you really want to shrink down a les paul in every dimension, I (we) would love to hear about it but that's a big project well beyond the reach of all but a few of us here. Especially if you want to make a les paul with a carved top, set neck, etc. I also think that scale lengths less than about 24" don't work very well and that your kid would be better served with something approaching a 'normal' scale length, like 24". That's probably one reason those little guitars don't sound good. I already mentioned a mustang with 24" scale, that would make a great kids guitar. USACG also makes scaled-down 'dinky' strat and tele type bodies.

"Personally I think you should pass the ball on the ground (brazilian footballistic slang for play easy, no shinny things) and get a 24-3/4" LP with hollow option (I would more worried about weight than size)... There is many guys who began played about 6, 8 years and played in the normal size one..."