my Rig and question on old Rocktron and ADA tube amp

S

SalsaNChips

Wanted to show what I am currently using as my main amp rig and ask a couple questions.

This is what I have been using for the last 15 years or so:
Amp_SetUp_01.jpg

Pretty simple and self-explanatory from the pic. Early-mid 90's Rocktron Piranha pre-amp into a late 80's (?) ADA T100S stereo 50W/channel tube head, with a Alesis Midiverb 4 in the EXF loop on the Rocktron pre-amp.

I use this to switch it by MIDI:
Amp_SetUp_02.jpg

Which has worked fine up until recently when one of the button pads went south. That is a Rolls unit I believe and I think they still make them (saw one new on eBay recently). It lasted me for about 15 years so not complaining.

The cabinet is your basic "brand M" 2X12 closed back in stereo. I do run stereo off the ADA head.

It stays pretty much parked in my studio -- I don't play out much and when I do I have taken to using a little Fender Mustang I solid state amp (which is a pretty neat little amp; thin sounding but does what it does very well thank you). I use The Rig for practice and recording or on those rare occasions when I need serious tone and volume.

Three pre-amp settings, clean, tube overdrive and tube/solid-state overdrive. The Clean with the gain down and output level raised is pristine (that is, once I figured out the right EQ settings for my Strat and the matching of signal levels to the Alesis). The Tube Overdrive – it’s “okay”; useful for blues, SRV, ZZ Top, Hendrixy stuff. Kind of mushy, okay for rhythm. Prefer the Clean setting with the gain cranked up. The Tube/Solid-State Overdrive? What can I say. IT BARKS. Not Of This Earth, late 80’s, Satriani’ish, early EVH, Gary Moore, etc., endless sustain – adjectives fail me. Needless to say, I rather like that setting :)