My first build - Roasted Fiesta Red Strat

Megatron

The build is underway!

Actually the build is pretty much complete (pics coming soon).

I'm wondering if I can get some help regarding setup. I'm totally new to tremolos, having only ever played fixed bridges before (string-through, stop bar tail pieces, acoustic bridges). There's definitely quite a dance when tuning it up and dealing with the tug of war between the strings and the trem springs.

I'm using a Gotoh 510T-BS1 bridge which has a locking two-point post system, similar to the one in the Ibanez image below. My Warmoth neck is a modern construction (side adjust mechanism) with a 10-16 compound radius fretboard and SS6100 jumbo frets. I attached 3 springs in the back for "standard" tension, and am currently setting the bridge to float. I strung it up with 9's, and everything was looking terrific until I noticed that the strings were almost right on the frets. I didn't anticipate that the fretboard would be so high, which I guess is expected on strats with a pickguard (as highlighted in the Warmoth neck depth image below). To adjust the action to a playable level, I raised the two trem posts ~2 mm (hard to measure) and then raised the saddles individually while maintaining a 16" radius. I also set the strings to tuned tension and used my notched straight edge neck check tool to check the bow after a couple hours - I needed a quarter turn of the side adjust mechanism on the neck. I'll revisit this today as the neck may have settled a bit more under tension.

So, I've raised the posts a bit and the saddles are quite high to achieve my desired buzz-free string action (the 6100 frets not being so helpful here...). I've seen many pictures of guitars with the posts pretty low (flat with the studs), but it seems that on a strat without the 720 mod, this would be impossible.

Question 1: On a strat with a 2 point trem system, is there a recommended way to set action? Is it normal to have the posts set high?