LP Build (non-Warmoth)

Cagey said:
But, still. I don't think there's any hardship for the drill press.
I really haul on my drill press to go through stainless steel without burning up bits. They'll take a lot of force without hurting them.

I've been playing this guitar for a few months now and absolutely loving everything about it EXCEPT the stupid sharp edge where my forearm rests. Precision guitar kits really went all out in cloning the LP including the "reverse dish" on the rim of the top, where the carved top flares back out on the edges. I really don't see the point of this, why would anybody want the guitar's top to be depressed in? Whatever, anything in the name of vintage correctness, right?

I've had this issue with LPs before and I knew I should have at least flattened out this dish in the forearm area before finishing, but I didn't. Oh well. I guess I was just too scared to go through the maple since the body is chambered underneath.

Anyway... I've been thinking about how to keep my finger tendons from getting sore while playing, and I discovered that some mandolin players solve a similar problem by making wooden armrests and attaching them with violin or viola chinrest hardware. Something like this or this.
MT00021-410x334_1_.jpg

So I ordered the hardware from a place called Dov Schmidt.  I ordered the normal and semi-hill style viola brackets. One has a fixed distance between the two arms (like on the mandolin photo above) and one lets you space them however. I had to guess on the thickness so I ordered the turnbuckles in a few sizes too. Turns out the shortest viola turnbuckles are correct for an LP. Oh and I got the wrench they sell for installing the whole thing. I think it was about $20 in harware total, not bad!

Next I had to carve the wooden part. I used some home depot poplar...I can always make one out of fancy rosewood or something later on, but first I needed to experiment with the shape using cheap wood.