How many play guitar?

teleme01

Experienced Member
I am always into math and numbers and demographics. So I Google number of guitar players. Turned out 1 in 10 have a guitar x 7 billion people and there are 7 hundred million people worldwide who collect, own , play, try to play,... myself, I would be in the bottom of the top half, anyway, there are a lot of us.

I would say that number is quoted skewed. I imagine the factor is closer to 1:100,000 if not 1:10,000,000

Or are you only talking the US? You didn’t state your sample. Sorry, I’m a data scientist.

I would even suggest at least 2.5% here (members) do not play guitar, they are bassists only.

My point of the thread was there are 700 million including cowboy chorders and those who never learned the cowboy chords. Those who know theory and those who play by ear. All on different levels with diverse backgrounds, they who play metal and others play ballads, some read, some don't. Every level from your weird uncle to Julian lage. I wish I was better than I am but I am better than I was.

Still, that AI generated item is directly sourced from Medium. A pay for access writer blog. Some of it lifted from Liverpool Academy (as noted). It’s part of their pitch to sell you lessons. Seemingly one of their teachers, Steve Flack, posted most of the article.

The other part that was cutoff was a 2021 study by Fender and YouGov. They found 16M people in the US between the ages of 13 and 64 began learning guitar during COVID. 72% of them were ages 13-34. A later study by Fender found 90% quit within 3 months of starting.

The US population in 2021 was 332M. So that 16M is less than 5%. Now 90% quit. So out of 16M, that leaves 1.6M that stayed with it. 1.6M is less than .5% of the 2021 US population.