Hard Cases...

Fred_Buzz

Ok so I've got my new sweet custom Warmoth tele all done... now I need nice travel case for it. What's your favorite case?

I've been looking at this one (SKB Pro Series):
750-1SKB-66PRO_detail2.jpg

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/1SKB-66PRO

Any recommendations?

I personally hate hard cases. I will take a quality gig bag any day. I have a lot of experience with the Mono M80 and the Gator ProGo. I prefer the ProGo for many reasons, which I can enumerate if you're interested.

Like double A, I've got a preference for gig bags around town.  But - I occasionally fly with the things as well, so I've got a couple of flight cases too.  IMHO old school wooden hard cases are a waste of time although I confess for one of my guitars I've got the exact SKB case that you've shown there.  It's fine and I'd feel good about someone getting it.  Still think gig bags are better.

For gig bags, I've got everything from the Mono bags to cheap Levys ones. Also, I've just ordered one of these:
DoubleGigBag001.jpg

I'll let you know how it is when I get it.

For my flight cases, I've got one of these for telecaster types:
ovsxw125c2efsnsbxqe1.jpg

and I've got one of these for my custom made Peggy White acoustic guitar:
80daed25e25b36b3c2cc61591cf70a9e

I've flown with both of the above and the cases have been excellent.

I like the SKB's too. There is a nice one on Stratosphere for $89. Used but looks great.

The SKB-66Pro is a lotta case for the money. Highly protective without being painfully heavy.

Trying to understand:
Why not hard cases ?
Last time I used a gig bag, a mic stand toppled and hit the bag. (I was outside loading out my rig.)  Ouch big ding.  If hard case it would have been no harm no foul. 

I'm with you. But, modern bags are pretty robust. Not really bags, so I don't see the point. May as well use a hard case.

TBurst Std said:
........If hard case it would have been no harm no foul.